Happy 20th Birthday Mr ITU… and some numbers.

280,000 – Prize money in U.S. dollars on the line in the first World Cup season, 1991.

221 – Number of World Cup races since 1991. There have been 221 women’s winners and 220 men’s winners as the 2004 Edmonton men’s race was cancelled due to bad weather.

154 – World Cup wins by Australians, the most of any country.

50 – kilometres, the distance of the bike leg in the first World Cup in St Croix, 1991. The swim was 2km, and the run 12km. The distance now is the official Olympic distance, of a 1.5km swim, 40km bike and a 10km run.

36 – Total World Cup sweeps by Australia, winning both the men’s and women’s races, including five times in 1995, 1997 and 1999.

33 – Number of World Cup’s hosted by Japan, the most of any country.

30 – Different countries have hosted World Cup Series races since 1991.

20 – World Cup wins by Portugal’s Vanessa Fernandes, the most of any ITU athlete. Fernandes won the 200th ITU World Cup race, which at that stage, meant she by herself had won an incredible 10 per cent of World Cup races. Portugal are fifth on the all-time winners list for countries, but Fernandes was the only Portuguese winner until last year when Joao Silva took the men’s Monterrey title.

17 – World Cup wins by Australia’s Brad Beven, the most of any male ITU athlete.

16 – The birthday that the Ishigaki World Cup race celebrated in 2011, it’s the longest running World Cup in ITU history and has been held since 1993. Australia’s Courtney Atkinson has won the men’s race an amazing five times.

12 – The number of World Cup wins that Simon Whitfield and Javier Gomez, the two top men still active on the World Cup circuit.

10 – Number of World Cup wins by Emma Snowsill, the current leading women still active on the World Cup tour.

7 – The number of World Cup wins Australian Emma Carney in 1996, the most World Cup wins by a female in a single season. Carney and Canadian Carol Montgomery were the only two women to win World Cup races that year, Montgomery won the other three titles that were on offer.

6 – The Number of World Cup wins by Brad Beven in 1995 and 1994, the most World Cup wins by a male in a single season.

2 – Hours, 31 minutes and 5 seconds. The winning time that Mike Pigg (USA) posted to win the first men’s World Cup race in St Croix. Carol Montgomery (CAN) posted 2 hours, 53 minutes and 16 seconds to win the women’s.  The distance was 2km swim, 50km bike, 12km run.

1 – Number of World Cup medals won by Poland, the most recent country to join the World Cup medal table when Marek Jaskolka won bronze in Ishigaki last month.

Aucun commentaire

Commentaire fermé